Opinion Piece: The Worst Games I Have Ever Played Of This Generation – Part 2

Part Two, cause there’s a lot of wank to cover.

Figured I’d do a second part since I have a few more games to add to this list. As mentioned in part one, I’m positive some of you will disagree and that’s cool. I’d still love to hear what you guys think were some of the worst games we saw this generation. Let’s make a fun discussion, but without further ado, onto the games with my buddy Simon Cowell helping me out.

 

Too Human; I was so pumped for this game, and ended up returning it the next day.

I was really excited for Too Human, and was looking up reviews of the game before dipping. Found a few positive reviews and decided to go out and buy the game full price. Big mistake. I brought the game home, threw it into my Xbox and loaded it up. For the first hour or so I was really enjoying the game, and having fun but soon enough flaws began poking out from the exterior and really soured my experience. The camera angles were bad, the combat didn’t feel fun, and felt more like mashing buttons than actually strategy, the loot system didn’t feel too rewarding and worst of all was that death cinematic. The angel descending to pick up your corpse to revive you felt like forever. Now, I could be forgetting other details about this game but that was back in 2008. I don’t remember most of my short experience with Too Human, but I do remember the stuff that left a bad taste in my mouth.

 

Final Fantasy XIII; I was really interested in this game, and a huge fan of Final Fantasy. This game killed that love in the series.

It’s a shame that I have to add a Final Fantasy title to this list, but sadly Final Fantasy XIII has to take the cake. From somebody who was used to the combat from previous titles and at home with that combat and controls, this took a step in a direction I was not comfortable, or okay with. I could be alone on this but I felt this new combat system to be confusing, and hard to figure out and actually enjoy. Usually in Final Fantasy games I loved fighting a tough enemy, having a challenge, and figuring out strategies to dispose of said foe. Instead, I found myself getting just plain frustrated and putting the game down for long periods of time. Part of the reason why I haven’t finished this game yet. Another reason is how unlikable the characters are this time around. To me, Final Fantasy has some of the most recognizable, and interesting characters in all of video-games, and it was sad for me to find nobody of any interest in XIII. I don’t know about XIII-2, as I have purchased that game but only watched the opening cinematic and haven’t touched anymore of it since. Sometimes I think I should give XIII a chance, but then I keep remembering how much I hate that combat system. Going back to Final Fantasy VII, and VIII helped wash the taste from my mouth.

 

Kane & Lynch 2; This game definitely feels like an old dog, that hasn’t learned any new tricks.

I’m actually quite curious if people will disagree, or agree with me on this one. My first ever experience with this game was a few months back after picking it up for a few bucks to co-op with a buddy of mine and hopefully pop off a quick few achievements. I don’t know what it was about this game but it just couldn’t hold my interest for more than an hour per session, sometimes even less. Sure, the game has a really cool idea with the HUD that resembles a video camera but other than that I can’t really say anything positive about this game. The gunplay doesn’t feel smooth, the enemies are incredibly stupid, and are sometimes bullet sponges. The story didn’t captivate me what-so-ever, and the multiplayer was by far some of the most boring multiplayer I have ever experienced. It feels like a typical third-person action shooter that doesn’t bring much new to the table,and what it does bring just doesn’t work.

 

Duke Nukem Forever; Duke came back, but should of just left forever.

Duke Nukem Forever. The return of Duke Nukem, but quite frankly it would of been better if he had of never come back. This game was bad. The humor that made us chuckle in the old days doesn’t hold up, and I found myself sighing more than anything throughout the game. Visually, this game doesn’t look good either and it even controls, and feels worse to play. Duke moves like he has a massive load of crap in his pants, and the animations on Duke seem to be the exact same from his early days, and I imagine were attempting to bring back some type of nostalgic factor but instead just added to how poorly this game controlled. I was hoping to get some really cool nostalgic trip back in time with Duke Nukem but instead got something I wish never existed as a video-game. Luckily, I only borrowed it from a friend. Too bad he paid full price.

 

Alone In The Dark; One game everyone should just leave alone.

Yikes. Talk about crap, and that’s me being nice. I’m one of the few people I know who played this game, and I’m actually still trying to finish it. Easy achievements, so whatever. My issues with this game are pretty easy to summarize and throw into this article, so here we go. Let’s start with how poor the combat is in this game. It’s by far the worst I have ever experienced in any video-game. It’s sluggish, feels clunky, and the worst part is using the analog sticks to swing melee weapons. It just doesn’t feel comfortable or even…fun in the slightest. The melee weapons feel entirely useless, and in the end just made me wish the game had no combat at all, and just kept me stuck with everything else which was equally as bad. The game gives you the ability to skip sections which is neat, but most players would probably find themselves skipping through the entire game due to the sluggish controls, poorly thought out puzzles, and numerous bugs and glitches plaguing this game. Avoid this game. Avoid it like the plague. I’m just still confused how it was tossed in the “survival-horror” genre.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Opinion Piece: The Worst Games I Have Ever Played Of This Generation – Part 2

  1. I would like to show my thanks to you just for rescuing me from this type of scenario. As a result of browsing through the the net and coming across ideas that were not beneficial, I figured my life was done. Living without the presence of strategies to the difficulties you have fixed all through your main blog post is a crucial case, as well as those that would have in a wrong way affected my entire career if I hadn’t come across your web page. Your primary mastery and kindness in touching all the things was very useful. I’m not sure what I would have done if I had not encountered such a solution like this. I can now look ahead to my future. Thanks for your time very much for your high quality and effective help. I will not hesitate to endorse the blog to anyone who should receive guide about this area.

Leave a Reply

